Law

Obtain or Renew Your Contractor License in Florida

Florida is a state that requires all contractors to be licensed. This means that if you are planning to do any work on your home that requires a permit, you will need to have a valid Florida contractor license. There are different types of licenses that contractors can obtain, depending on the type of work they do. You will need to make sure that you get the right license for the work you plan to do.

If you are a general contractor, you will need to get a General Contractor license. This type of license allows you to work on all types of projects, including new construction, remodeling, and repair work. If you only plan to do one type of work, you may be able to get a Specialty Contractor license. This type of license is specific to the type of work you do, such as electrical work or plumbing.

Applying for the License

To apply for a Florida contractor license, you will need to fill out an application and submit it to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You will also need to provide proof of insurance, workers’ compensation, and bonding. The application fee is $200, and you will need to renew your license every two years.

Taking the Exam

After you have submitted your application, you will need to take an examination. The examination is administered by Prometric, and you will need to register for the exam in advance. The registration fee is $60, and you will need to pay an additional $25 fee when you take the exam. The examination is open book, and you will have four hours to complete it. 

After You Pass the Exam

Once you have passed the examination, you will need to submit your application for a contractor license. The application fee is $200, and you will need to provide proof of insurance, workers’ compensation, and bonding. You will also need to submit your fingerprints for a background check. Once your application has been processed, you will be issued a license.

Renewing Your License

Your Florida contractor license will need to be renewed every two years. To renew your license, you will need to submit a renewal application to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You will also need to pay a renewal fee, which is currently $200.

It is important to note that you will need to renew your license even if you do not plan on actively working as a contractor. If you do not renew your license and it expires, you will need to reapply for a new license and meet all of the requirements as if you were a first-time applicant.

Continuing Education Requirements

In order to renew your Florida contractor license, you will need to complete 14 hours of continuing education. Of the 14 hours, four must be in ethics and business practices. The remaining 10 hours can be in any qualifying construction-related course. You can find a list of qualifying courses on the Rocketcert website. Rocketcert offers a variety of online courses that meet the continuing education requirements for Florida contractors.

It is important to note that you will need to complete your continuing education before your license expires. If you do not, you will need to complete a reactivation course before you can renew your license. The reactivation course is a four-hour course in business practices and ethics.

In order to work as a contractor in Florida, you will need to have a valid contractor license. The type of license you need depends on the type of work you do. You will need to make sure that you get the right license for the work you plan to do, and you will also need to renew your license every two years. You can renew your license by taking a continuing education course or by taking a reactivation course.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button